When I got back in the game of cycling in 07 i never dream t that riding to Negril was a possibility for me. In that yr I didn't even have the fitness or the legs to do so. Come 08 that yr came and went by, but 09 was a different i had the fitness but I don’t know if it was the resources i never had or cold feet but some of the Cyclonites went that yr. 2010 was the year for it to happen but the rains messed up things and the ride was off. 2011 was the yr to be, it started off with me riding and getting in a few miles, trying break my own PB riding to work, ‘How Come' came up with a RAWTID plan to get us ready for the Negril Challenge. It was brutal if u ask me, nuff riding and the recovery between the rides was limited. Sad to say i never really go in much training with the Clones, the most amount of miles I did this yr was 70.
I was saying is this enuff to take me so far? But the wk b4 the Challenge i clocked 40 mph the fastest speed i have ever done on a cycle, but speed alone can’t and won’t take me there. I went round the Junction to Devon Pen and did a 50 miler, but going up Long Lane and Golden Spring i knew i would make it over Mt Rosser. I and Cyclonite Grim /the editor went on a drive to check out the route lucky we did so. Made a few notes came back and discussed it with the rest of the Clones and thing, but some said that we took the thing serious and that wasn't necessary, but I glad I did.
Went and got signed up and everything, a certain man from Cutters was saying how i always a chicken out on the Challenge, but after signing up he began to sit up and take note. On hearing that the team would be getting some jersey i felt like a child @ Xmas,mi nuh stop ping(even though mi nuh have nuh BB) email call and text wanting to know what the status of the jersey is. When it finally came to me via Customs mi say yes a boy can’t chat to me! I went to be early the nite of the 14th but i did get some sleep,but i was going thru my mind and thoughts of what is to come. I woke of early got ready and headed out to Cyclonite Action Beddy yard.
We loaded up the RAV and fwd in the rain,when we reached ATL New Kgn we never see any 1 but it was raining like wow. I was beginning to worry if the ride would be taking place.
Getting thru the check points
I saw of the arrival of Team 305 from Miami rode in the rain to ATL, slowly jus like the rain a few riders trickled in. The arrival of the rest of the Team Cyclone riders made me smile. We all gathered got ourselves together and there was a roll call, a small Proven photo shoot and thing. But the rain never eased @ all. Anyway we were in the front group,but the start time of 4.30















am was pushed back. All the riders rolled out and we headed on our merry way. Nature was calling on me to take a break and it was the 1st of many to come. I was @ the back of the group jus trailing along. The rest of the crew was up front and me and the GRIM was at the back. I was helping him go thru the rain because he couldnt see a thing, i had another leak on Mandela but we had to chase like hell to get back on the main field. That moment reminded me of the movie Iron Eagle when Chappy Sinclair and his young buck pilot was going on the mission to save his dad, but chappy was telling him to go easy on the throttle cause u don’t wanna burn too much fuel cause its a long was to go, i was doing 24mph going up the grade @ Ace Hardware out by Village.
Contact was made, but it was jus taking it easy to the 1st stop. I jus keep on remembering what my Farin coach tell me, jus drink and tap out the gear, the gorge, Flat Bridge, Linstead all those places was jus a blur. Made it to check point one so far so good all the Clones were there. Coach say dont say too long @ check point one. I headed out to face the devil of a climb up mt rosser. i drew a lite gear from early passed Billy Perkins and his crew and i was doing bout 7mph nice and steady, i did not struggle nuh tall up the climb @ one point i cut it down and was jus easy steady Freddy, I felt good when I reached the border of st ann and st cath i was doing 12mph.
Check point 2 came and we stopped got something to eat, but lawd it still a rain, but the greatest challenge was to come, the drop into check point 3. This was the scariest thing i have ever done.
Seeing the lite
After making my way down into Steer Town and going around those bends, going thru traffic and almost going off the road countless time we all made SAFELY down to check point there. At that point i said to myself so far so good, never eat the food they had but had to rush to our food wagon to get several bites to eat. I was getting a bit cold now and we had to fly the bonnet of one of our support cars to get heat from the engine to warm us. The CLONES were all in good spirit and i heard the ride master say its 30miles to the next stop. I saw a next group of riders came rolling in it was team breakaway and among them was SUMFEST man Gary Gorzong. It was still rain and i headed out the roads felt well and there wasn’t any wind to bout us.
I knew the climbs were coming ahead so we jus took it easy, how come had a little contact with the pavement but his shorts was a bit torn but he got up and we rode off again, the climbs that lay ahead did bother me @ all i was doing 14mph up a 9% grade. We all pedal along till we reach Duncans,fueled up the body again and headed out, but action felt his strength and went off with the ride master and thats the ;last we saw of him, till we reach Mobay. The remaining 6 of us settled in a small group and rode into Mobay smart i was feeling good @ that point because I have never ridden so far yet. The grim was feeling a bit tired but he managed to so with us not to get un hitched.
I was getting a bit tired and we were ridding and all now i cant see mobay, i was like where the hell is this place, i finally make it into twn,phew lawd mi tired. When mi reach check point 4 nuh action beddy i see with bags of ice in both legs looking mash up as hell. i did the usually pee,eat drink and get a little rest, look round the place take a few photos and looked in the show. Boss the place nice trust me, Doug ur boss a spend some rawtid $$$$$. I heard a voice so 10mins to go i said shit. I looked @ my clock and saw more than 8hrs riding time gone with 117miles. My bicycle never touch them a place yet. They assemble all of us in one group and off we went, i told action that i am not staying @ the back, so me him and trissy/mechanic stayed up from, his O2 and knock sensors a work well though.
There was a constant head wind into Lucea pure breeze and i am like WTF and the pace @ with them yah man a ride trust me it wasnt slow. Nature take me now and it wasn't raining so i had to drop back pee in the shorts again,but a gap had open up,i had to do 27 mph to to connect,it too a tool on me but i recovered. Two of the team breakway riders informed and help kept me going. Big up to them. Made it to check point Lucea the final one b4 negril. We never stayed long and all three of us was still there, just 20 miles more to go.
Making it home
On leaving Lucea Tom Connor said that jus two more loops of Royal and we home. But is like the man them smell blood. is now the man them turn on a piece a pace going into negril. Mi say no sah how the man them a ride so hard, but i guess they wanna make it b4 dark and ride they did ride. Rite now the three clones up front were coming under real and serious pressure. Action was the 1st to go, but when him get cut he found a 2nd breathe and came back but we when i saw him i said OMG action u doing good, but the little engine that could couldn’t no more him get cut again and trissy was next to un-hitch. I held on as long as i could but the man with the Hammer came calling too and i too was un-hitched, and this was 9 miles from the finish. I saw the three 305 boys with the 2 Cyclonites under them wheel but i logged on but the pace was too much so we backed off. We re-grouped and chatted for a while them begun to put the hammer down. Finally we saw home and we made it to Long Beach @ 6.18 pm after 10 hrs 48mins, 159.72 miles @ an average of 14.7 mph we made it.
The rest of the crew came in with others @ 6.35pm we were all over joyed i almost cried. Took a few photos and i was so tired me not even eat nothing. I must thank the Cyclone man them they rode very well,Mutty,VC,Trissy,Action,How come,The Grim/editor and me the Blazing Fyah. The support crew Beeks u large little bro,The Grim/editor brother in law and him girl and to Father Grim,they stayed with us all the way. I must not forget Chorvel she drove very well and thanks for the photos we couldn't do it with out u. Big up my Farin Coach Marvin Crawford i owe u. JB and Nixx is unno make me push so hard,and lawd to my co worker Tanker 11 who say mi couldnt do it, but i did. And to all the other peeps who say mi mad and them nah do that blah blah,but mi do it. Hawky say when u gets older u should challenge urself more. Lord of the Rings, big up u self,u the real big man, Matthew g nuh worry u u self yute. Karen thanks again.
i don't think i made any mistakes this yr but i think i am going to approach next yr differently. Tjam crew bless up. Mr Black’s thanks
Big up Billy and Helen trust me i owe u lots thanks for the help. So Jan 2012 we start train again, so take care folks be good and watch out fi TEAM CYCLONE next yr.